Resources for Students and Parents
Test your knowledge on the meanings of traffic and road signs. This test contains 5 parts, 30 multiple choice questions for each part.
If you are preparing for your first driving test or just studying to get a learner's permit, you know you'll need to pass a written test in addition to the road test you'll use to demonstrate your knowledge behind the wheel. The written test will require you to display your understanding of the many traffic signs. This page is meant to serve as a study guide and a general knowledge exam covering these common signs
Restrictions - Level 1 Permit
While driving, a supervising driver will accompany you
The first six months, you may only drive from 5 AM to 9 PM with your supervising driver
You are not permitted to use a mobile telephone or other additional technology associated with a mobile phone while operating a motor vehicle on public vehicular areas
The Limited Provisional License allows you to;
Drive unsupervised from 5 AM until 9 PM
Drive unsupervised when driving directly to or from work or any volunteer fire, rescue or emergency medical service
Requirements for Learner's Permit
It is then the responsibility of the parent to obtain a Driver Eligibility Certificate from the school the student attends, not the instructor. It verifies that the student is currently enrolled and meeting the attendance requirements and grade standards of the NC Adequate Progress Law. This certificate is good for 30 days and may be obtained through the school student services (guidance) department or high school principal.
Home School Students
Parents can request a certificate from the NCDNPE
NOTE** The driver's ed instructors cannot issue the DEC, parents must obtain from the high school. Please contact the NCDMV with questions regarding the DEC.
Restricted Instruction Permit
Students please mail the restricted instruction permit to Mountain Professionals, the grade will also be sent to Mountain Professionals. Then the restricted permit will be sent to the driving instructor in your district. Once the instructor receives the restricted permit you will be scheduled to drive by birth order, oldest first. Typically, they will receive a call from an instructor within 30 to 90 days after completion of the classroom phase, depending on your age and the number of students in your district.
Private or Boarding School Students
Driver education is provided to students attending school within the state of North Carolina. Minors attending school outside the state of North Carolina but who reside in North Carolina can attend one of the DMV certified commercial driving schools throughout North Carolina. Students attending school outside North Carolina can obtain a Driving Eligibility Certificate from the local school system central office in which they have permanent residence. The local education agency determines what evidence is needed to verify an out of state student's Driving Eligibility. Please contact the Driver's Training Coordinator at your local school district central office for the school system's criteria. A North Carolina Driver Education Certification of Completion obtained from the commercial driving school is also presented to the local central public school system office. Both the DEC and the certificate of completion of Driver's Training are presented to the local DMV office.
If you need to print a copy of the Restricted Permit, you can download it here: Restricted Instruction Permit. Forms should be mailed to the following address:
Mountain Professionals, Inc.
PO Box 212
Bakersville, NC 28705
Make sure to:
We are able to accept optometrist eye exams done within 6 months of submission, and they must include visual acuity (in terms of 20/20 etc.), and note any corrective lenses. Eye exam must be on Dr's letterhead, not RIP form.
For visual acuity worse than 20/40 with no corrective lenses noted, they will need to submit a vision form directly to the DMV (DL77 fax number located on form).
Complete the form in BLUE or BLACK ink.
Have a parent/guardian sign in BLUE or BLACK ink.
Students will not be able to drive until this form is turned in.
Beginning in 2020, federal agencies will enforce tougher security standards at airport check-ins, federal buildings, military installations and nuclear sites.